Legend of Korra – Power Struggle (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

I really, really enjoy being right. So when the main conflict of this week so perfectly echoed the exact debate Katie and I had last week, I felt smug-ish. On one hand, I had kind of predicted the future – the debate over legitimate abuse of bender power and privilege was the entire point of this week’s storyline. And they really ran with it on Korra. I mean, bloodbending? That is  literally taking away another person’s bodily integrity. It is the ultimate power play. I did not anticipate they would go there.

On the other hand, I was also kind of wrong. You see, when I approached the question of bending and privilege, I approached it from a very secular, political, American point of view. I  live in a world where someone claiming to have spiritual power over the balance of the universe is probably crazy, a megalomaniac or both, and I forget that in the world of Korra, it’s actually true. Korra really is a human embodiment for divine solutions to human failure. She really does have special powers that allow her to fix things others can’t fix. But since I am used to living and thinking in a world where that isn’t true, I’m hardwired to think of it in terms of, “You’re not my mom, you can’t tell me what to do! God, oppression.”

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

