Sherlock – The arch-enemy, the woman, and the bromance (Originally for CliqueClack TV, Co-Written with Katie Schenkel)

“Well, wow.” That’s pretty much all I could think about regarding the Sherlock premiere after I watched it. Wow, and “I have no idea what just happened, but I’m pretty sure it was awesome.” Unfortunately, that is not really a good place to start if you’re trying to review a show. Fortunately, fellow Clacker Katiewas game to talk this episode out with me.

Katie: I am so glad they resolved the cliffhanger from the last series. It’s not how I expected it to be, but it’s pure Moriarty.

Julia: It’s so impossible for me to choose a favorite moment of the episode, but definitely in the top ten is the fact that Moriarty’s ringtone is “Stayin’ Alive“. And Andrew Scott is just so damn good as Moriarty. He reminds me a lot of Heath Ledger‘s version of the Joker, actually. He’s clearly terrifying and dangerous, but in that completely unbalanced, sickly-sweet way that taps into this really childlike terror so much better than someone who was just cold and competent ever could.

Katie: I totally agree about Moriarty. My favorite moment of last season was his indescribable, “NO YOU WON’T!” Very, very Joker-like. He’s such a great foil for Sherlock because Sherlock is so very dry while Moriarty is the definition of manic.

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

