HIMYM – Heartbreak, hilarity, and sandwiches (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

So I have this longstanding grudge against dramas, which boils down to my belief that they’re simply not as nuanced as comedies. Dramas are angst and anguish and high stakes and dramatic music, which, as far as I’m concerned, is exceedingly one-note. Comedies, on the other hand, seem to take care in exploring the full range of human emotion. Yes, they make you laugh, but they also every so often sucker punch you with overwhelming emotion, which is almost more emotionally devestating because, unlike a drama, you are not expecting to actually feel anything watching a sitcom. And, case in point, let’s talk this week’s How I Met Your Mother, because nothing illustrates this concept better than that.

As you may have noticed, I am not Ivey — he’s on a business trip and will be back to doing reviews next week. When he initially sent out an e-mail asking for people to cover his shows, I was unsure if I should take How I Met Your Mother until I saw the killer ending from last week’s episode. If there’s one thing How I Met Your Mother handles well, it’s finding that perfect sitcom balance between heartbreak and hilarity, and I knew that Barney and Robin hooking up again would inevitably lead to a golden follow-up episode. And, I would like to say with no small amount of smugness, I was totally right.

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

