Merlin – Finale Setup 101 (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

Hello and welcome to what you thought would be a review of this week’s episode of Merlin. My name is Julia and I’ll be your teacher today. Don’t worry, we’re still going to talk about Merlin, but I would be utterly remiss if I did not take this opportunity to both educate you and prepare you for the fact that this season is totally ending with Merlin revealing his magic to Arthur.

I know what you’re thinking — we’ve been here and thought this before, we’ve thought that there was going to be a reveal only to have our hopes cruelly dashed.  Believe me, I have been there. I understand your pain. But this time, it’s really, really, really happening. Not because we want it to or feel like it should or Arthur and Merlin’s future life partnership/destiny/bro-lationship is never going to recover from the betrayal of trust, but because of Television Science, which this episode had so many beautiful examples of that I’d be remiss to not turn this into a teaching moment. And if you’re not into learning, think of it less as that and more as reason to hope that by the series finale (and can you believe we’re already over halfway there?), Shit Is Going To Go Down.

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

