My comedy Emmy picks – Clacking with Julia (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

It’s that time of year again! The regular seasons are over, some reflecting has been done, and it’s time to prop up your feet, look back at the year, and decide who should win an Emmy. It’s like Christmas for TV nerds like me, only even better.

Now, when I think about who I want to win, I never think about the drama categories because, frankly, I don’t really watch dramas. My only opinion as far as that’s concerned is that Scott Caan deserves at the very least a nomination for his work on Hawaii Five-0, if not to win the entire thing, and I will continue this campaign until someone listens to me and gives the guy his damn award already. The other thing I think is, on my dream comedy ballot, Glee isn’t allowed. Frankly, I’m not sure why Glee even counts as a comedy. I could maybe see last season, when it was still a good show that straddled that quirky dramedy line, but not this season. This season was one giant death spiral of self-righteousness and poorly conceived preachy after-school specials set to music, and there’s nothing funny about that. It’s pretty clear to me that Glee submitted itself as a comedy because they decided it would be easier game to win in a comedy category over a drama. This, in and of itself, is an attitude that enrages me — the idea that comedy is less “legitimate” than drama, or that it’s an easy place to pick off weak candidates only nominated out of pity. Well, (expletive) that. Glee doesn’t make it on my ballot this year. But here are some very deserving shows and actors that do:

(Read more…)

One response to “My comedy Emmy picks – Clacking with Julia (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

  1. You know, I keep hearing Scott Caan is doing some great work on 5-0, but he’ll always be the annoying Entourage character to me. Also why I could never stand Eliza Dushku. Old habits die hard.

Leave a Reply

