Merlin – The finale that fixed (almost) everything (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

It’s kind of awful to say the following, but it’s true — as a reviewer of television, you wish for bad episodes. Not so bad that writing about them is painful because it involves actually dwelling on whatever fresh hell you’ve subjected yourself to, but bad. It’s easier to complain about something than to praise it. Complaining can be broken down into arguments. But when you’re happy, there’s usually a lot of flailing. And it’s really hard to write when you’re too excited to get your arms to work properly.

Here’s the thing, though: I watched the second half of the season finale and I have … almost nothing bad to say at all. In fact, I’m overjoyed. I’m so overjoyed that I’ve watched the episode four times already (and some parts so many times I’ve lost count) and rather than becoming more rational as time goes on, I keep getting more and more jubilant. It’s taken me twenty-four hours to even process this episode, let alone write on it. I’m positively giddy. I don’t even know where to begin.

(Read more…)

One response to “Merlin – The finale that fixed (almost) everything (Originally for CliqueClack TV)

  1. Loved this review-totally agree with your comments about the lack of gay this season, and especially, the absolute befuddlement I have every time Gwen and Arthur are on screen, played by two pretty awesome actors, and the way all of their scenes together fizz out like ginger ale left out open on the counter for 3 days. Interestingly enough, I’ve heard that in most interviews, whenever Bradley comments on the Gwen/Arthur thing, whatever that thing is, he’s not very enthralled with it himself. He seems to know that it just isn’t working for a lot of people, and that apparently seems to include him. He prefers the bromance! So do I…

    The only part of the review that I didn’t really agree with was that about this season being less than awesome. They hit a few wrong notes, true, and most of those involved a certain endlessly smirking someone and everyone else’s blindness to her. But for the most part, so many of the eps were fantastic and had me returning to youtube over and over to re-watch. (Yes, I too am in the states and had to rely on Brit friends to illegally get me my Merlin fix.) I’ll be watching all over again when the show returns to SyFy next month.

    Love your reviews and comments and I’m hoping to hear the Bradley James/Colin Morgan conference call you mentioned, sounds totally awesome, you lucky thing!

Leave a Reply

