Clacking With Julia – Liz Lemon, feminist of the people (Originally for Clique Clack Television)

Normally, when I tell people that Liz Lemon not only is the character who is most like me, but is exactly who I aspire to be,  my number one role model in life, I get a lot of incredulous responses.

No, wait, let me amend that. When I tell men that, I get a lot of incredulous responses.

“But Liz Lemon is such a failure!” They say. “Isn’t the whole point that she’s a farce and ultimately unhappy? There are people like Buffy and Scully and Veronica Mars and you’d choose to be Liz Lemon?” And I say yes, yes I would. I would never poo-poo any of the lovely ladies other people cite, but there’s a reason women love Liz, that women watch her and laugh as much as they identify with her, all while aspiring to be her. And it’s exactly for the reason so many of my guy friends don’t get — it’s because she’s a failure.

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

