Clacking With Julia – Three Super Bowl ads that don’t suck (Originally for Clique Clack Television)

This year, the ads for the Super Bowl were trite, sexist (to put it politely), and not as good as they used to be.

In related news, the sun rises in the east, the world revolves around the sun, and The Puppy Bowl is the best thing to happen to Super Bowl Sunday since the invention of guacamole.

When considering what to discuss this week in my column, I did quite seriously consider discussing Puppy Bowl. Has ever a more glorious two hours existed on television? All those little paws! The hamsters who flew the blimp for aerial views! The completely nonplussed bunny cheerleaders! The kitty halftime show! Puppies! Then I realized, honestly, is there any commentary you can add to that besides “awwwww”?

I also considered discussing the epic amounts of misogyny that were in commercials this year. (Really, dudes? It pains you on a personal level to, god forbid, eat fruit? And this heinous emasculation can be solved by driving a Dodge? Frankly, if you lose your self-worth as a man by putting your underwear in the dirty laundry hamper and recycling, a stupid car is not going to make you feel better — you have serious issues.) But then everyone else discussed it better than I could, and I thought to myself, you know, maybe I should actually discuss the  the top three ads that didn’t suck this year, in my opinion. Of course, my opinion is nothing like everyone else’s opinion, but what can I say? I’m a special snowflake.

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

