Sons of Tucson: These kids are alright – CliqueClack Preview (Originally for Clique Clack Television)

SOT_Pilot-Sc7pt_0003-425x283If there is one TV trope I will watch again and again and again and never fail to be delighted by, it’s a bunch of messed-up, crazy people coming together against all odds and forming a rag-tag sort of family. I fell for it on The Office. I love it on Leverage. There much isn’t a show I love that doesn’t have this to some extent. (30 Rock? Pushing Daisies? How I Met Your Mother?)

So when I read the summary of Sons of Tucson my response was, “Oh, hell yeah.” Adorable kids! Hilarious shenanigans! What could possibly go wrong?

Honestly, a lot. Kids are tricky on screen. Get them right, and you get them really right, get them wrong, and nothing ruins a show faster. And I am happy to report, after watching the screener of Sons of Tucson, this show has gotten it really, really right.

(Read more…)

Sons of Tucson

If there is one TV trope I will watch again and again and again and never fail to be delighted by, it’s a bunch of messed-up, crazy people coming together against all odds and forming a rag-tag sort of family. I fell for it on The Office. I love it on Leverage. There much isn’t a show I love that doesn’t have this to some extent. (30 Rock? Pushing Daisies? How I Met Your Mother?)

So when I read the summary of Sons of Tucson my response was, “Oh, hell yeah.” Adorable kids! Hilarious shenanigans! What could possibly go wrong?

Honestly, a lot. Kids are tricky on screen. Get them right, and you get them really right, get them wrong, and nothing ruins a show faster. And I am happy to report, after watching the screener of Sons of Tucson, this show has gotten it really, really right.

(Warning! Possible spoilers for the first episode ahead.)

If there is one TV trope I will watch again and again and again and never fail to be delighted by, it’s a bunch of messed-up, crazy people coming together against all odds and forming a rag-tag sort of family. I fell for it on The Office. I love it on Leverage. There much isn’t a show I love that doesn’t have this to some extent. (30 Rock? Pushing Daisies? How I Met Your Mother?)

So when I read the summary of Sons of Tucson my response was, “Oh, hell yeah.” Adorable kids! Hilarious shenanigans! What could possibly go wrong?

Honestly, a lot. Kids are tricky on screen. Get them right, and you get them really right, get them wrong, and nothing ruins a show faster. And I am happy to report, after watching the screener of Sons of Tucson, this show has gotten it really, really right.

(Warning! Possible spoilers for the first episode ahead.)

Leave a Reply

