Glee – it’s about opening yourself up to joy (Originally for Clique Clack Television)

singinggleeAs I write this, it is a Tuesday afternoon, and I’ve got stuff I should be doing. The garden needs attention, I’ve got laundry to do, my mother has hinted that she may need help with something-or-other, and I probably should consider getting exercise at some point. Instead, I am booting up Hulu and watching Glee for what I think may be the seventh time in a week. Because I, like everyone else, am totally addicted.

Now I could blame this addiction on a lot of things, like how Jayma Mays is utterly fantastic in everything she does, or my burgeoning and unstoppable crush on Finn (no matter what my best friend claims, I saw him first), or even the wildly quotable lines (“chicks don’t have prostates — I looked it up”). I could blame it on being part of the television hive mind or drinking the collective Kool Aid that’s been passed from television nerd to television nerd faster than mono at a kissing booth. But I’m going to go out there and say what I’ve been keeping inside for far too long: the reason that I, Julia Hass, love Glee is because it’s got musical numbers and I am a musical nerd.

(Read more…)

Leave a Reply

